Evening prayer, 9/6/16

I used to do my devotions in the morning. Before the rat race of another work day began, it was so nice to sit with the Lord, the quiet, and a cup of coffee. I loved it. I needed it. I looked forward to it.

Then we had kids.

And I’ll admit it: for a long time, I simply had no time or energy for devotionals. At all. Nothing. And my spiritual life suffered. I spent less and less time praying and more and more time complaining that I didn’t have time to pray. And it took a really, really long time for me to realize that I could carve out time in the evenings to be with God, read Scripture, and pray.

A current routine of mine is to read my daily passages (usually 2 OT and 2 NT) and then spend a few minutes praying the Lord’s Prayer alongside those readings. Few passages are as overly familiar to me as the Lord’s Prayer. And although I believe these words of Jesus are never devoid of their power regardless of the energy or passion I may bring to them, I nevertheless cherish anything that can make these familiar words speak to my heart in a fresh way. Now I don’t know how long this particular discipline will stick around but it’s been incredibly beneficial for this season of my prayer life. Sometimes we incorporate disciplines that we know need to be with us for life (like sabbath); other times, the Lord gifts us with a little something that’s meant to carry us through a particular season in our lives.

So for example, one of tonight’s NT passages was from 1 Corinthians 15, when Paul is arguing about the utter necessity of believing in the resurrection. And I took a moment to pray “For Thine is the kingdom, the power, and the glory, forever and ever” through the lens of this particular Corinthians passage. In other words, what does the truth of the resurrection have to say about God’s kingdom and power and glory?

Here’s what I came up with:

Kingdom — A kingdom needs subjects. Seems obvious enough. What good is a kingdom if all its subjects are dead? The resurrection (both of Jesus and then one day of us, Jesus’ followers) is a necessary component to any assertion about God having a kingdom.

Power — Obviously resurrection requires great power, for we are powerless when it comes to death. How can mortals overcome death? The resurrection showcases God’s awesome and unprecedented and unequaled power.

Glory — But more than just a show of power, resurrection is also about God’s glory. Bringing forth life from death gives glory to God. Redeeming and restoring that which has been lost to sin and death is glorious. The Lord glories in the glorified body of His Son, Jesus.

So the resurrection– both of Christ (“the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep,” 1 Cor 15:20) and eventually of us, Christ’s followers (those who will/have already fallen asleep)– is absolutely central to establishing God’s kingdom, power, and glory, forever and ever, amen.

 

Leave a Reply

