Morning prayer, 10/18/16

“In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; early in the morning I make my appeal and watch for you.” –Psalm 5:3

The longer I do this, the more I realize I need the Psalms in my daily life. Been trying to read a Psalm every morning at breakfast time. It’s been hard to make this routine stick, to be honest.

But today I read Psalm 5, and I love the way verse 3 highlights what morning prayer is about: casting a vision for the day (or perhaps, intentionally reorienting one’s vision towards God’s vision) and then waiting to see what happens.

There’s an assurance in this verse that God hears us. There’s an awareness that God wants to hear more from us, all the specifics and details. And best of all, there’s this expectation– all right, God, so what are You going to do today? I’ve given you my hopes, my thanks, my fears, my questions, my goals. I’m ready; let’s get started.

It’s almost like a flipside of Genesis 2:19, when God brings the animals to Adam “to see what he would call them.” Just as God takes delight in watching what Adam will do next, so can we take delight in watching what God will do after our morning prayers.

I remind A. regularly that life with God is an adventure, with each day about talking to Him, hearing from Him, and then responding in faith. This verse is a great reminder (for me!) of this truth.

Leave a Reply

